Shawnee County Commission

Professional Community-Minded Accountable.

About the Board of Commissioners

The Shawnee County Board of Commissioners is a three-person elected body that has overall responsibility for county government, setting policy and performing executive and legislative functions. Commissioners serve four year terms, with two of the three commissioners being elected in the same year, and the other commissioner elected two years later. Commission terms begin the second Monday in January after the election. The Board meets at 9 a.m. Mondays and Thursdays in the County Commission Chambers located in the Shawnee County Courthouse, Room B-11. The Board of County Commissioners is the only locally elected body which is representative of all citizens of Shawnee County regardless of their residence inside or outside of city boundaries.