Shawnee County Civil Service Board

Promoting People Who Protect.


Board Members

  • Lynn Gentine
  • Darren Root
  • Gary Ross

200 SE 7th St., Room B-28
Topeka, KS 66603

Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Monday - Friday

Purpose and Mandate

In September 2003, the Board of County Commissioners of the County of Shawnee, Kansas, established the Shawnee County Civil Service Board by Charter Resolution No. CH-2003-4 establishing the civil service system for the Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office. The Board consists of three members who are appointed by each Shawnee County Commissioner from his or her respective commission district to serve during the term of office of the appointing Commissioner.

In addition, the Director of Shawnee County Human Resources provides a Human Resources staff member to act as the Civil Service Specialist to provide administrative support for all Board activities. The Director of Shawnee County Human Resources also acts as a technical advisor to the Board in all personnel or human resource matters.

The Shawnee County Civil Service Board endeavors to promote and encourage the establishment and continuation of professional law enforcement in Shawnee County. The Civil Service Board serves the citizens of Shawnee County by establishing certain benefits and protections for all classified officers employed in the Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office as well as establishing certain benefits and protections that apply to the non–contract staff–level classified officers in order to encourage professional development and career advancement to the level of staff officer. In performing their duties, the Board complies with all applicable state laws, state and federal constitutional requirements and provisions of applicable County regulations, ordinances and contracts.

Meetings are scheduled as necessary. Unless posted otherwise meetings are held in the Shawnee County Courthouse, Commission Chambers, Room B-11. Board Members may be reached by contacting Jessica Schwerdt at 785.251.4144 or