Shawnee County Election Office

Prompt Honest Accurate.

Election Office

Office Information

Election Information

Important Forms



The Mission of the Election Office: To honestly, fairly and according to law administer elections for all voters; and to accurately report the results in a timely manner.

Election Office has moved effective
Tuesday, May 26, 2015. New address is
3420 SW Van Buren, Topeka, KS 66611.

2015 USD 501 Mail Ballot Election

2015 USD 437 Mail Ballot Election

Dates to Remember

Printable Copy of the 2015 USD 501 Mail Ballot Election Calendar

Printable Copy of the 2015 USD 437 Mail Ballot Election Calendar

2015 USD 501 and USD 437 Mail Ballot Election Calendar

May 17 Voters who are registered to vote by today will be sent a ballot
May 18 Requests for ballots to be made on a Replacement Ballot Application
May 26 Deadline for Advance Voting
May 26 Last day to register to vote, replacement application is needed
May 27 Ballot delivery into Post Office (USPS system) begins today
June 10 Public test of voting equipment begins at 8:30 a.m.
June 12 Last day the Election Office may mail replacement ballots
June 22 County Board of Canvassers
June 23 Recount Request Deadline
June 26 Recount Completed (if requested)


Important Information

Registration and Voting

The information on our website reflects election law as it stands today. As new laws go into effect we will update the information accordingly.

The voter registration deadline is now the 21st day before any election.

Beginning January 1, 2012 every voter must show photo identification each time they vote. Beginning January 1, 2013, individuals must provide proof of U.S. citizenship when they register to vote for the first time in Kansas.

To check your registration status or to view a sample ballot, go to Kansas Voter View.

To Contact Your Party Headquarters

We maintain a list of party headquarters to help you to contact them more easily.

Picture of Andrew Howell Election Commissioner
Andrew Howell



View our Election Districts Map to learn which districts you are in, and who your elected officials are. The included districts are commission, school, city council, state representative and state senate.