Shawnee County Planning Department

Enforcement Support Development.

Building Code Committee


Shawnee County has administered a building permit (formerly zoning permit) procedure since the early 1950's. Although Shawnee County requires a building permit, it does not enforce a building code. During a building permit application review process, the primary concern is determining whether the proposed use is consistent with the zoning district in which located and that the structure otherwise complies with all setback and dimensional requirements of the zoning regulations. With no adopted building code, there is no field inspection to assure that structures are built in accordance with a minimum construction code. As a result, structures are built that may not comply with a nationally recognized building code, potentially compromising public safety and sustained structural value.

Building Code Exploratory Committee

On May 14, 2015, the Shawnee County Board of Commissioners appointed a Building Code Exploratory Committee charged with examining the validity and feasibility of adopting a building code program applicable to unincorporated Shawnee County. The committee met through the summer and fall of 2015. On November 18, 2015, the committee concluded its work and approved the following report and recommended the County Commission move forward with the development of a County building code. The complete committee report can be downloaded by clicking HERE.

Building Code Committee:

On December 10, 2015, the County Commission accepted the report and recommendation of the Building Code Exploratory Committee and directed the Planning Department to return with a proposal for taking the next step. On January 20, 2016, the County Commission acted on a proposal appointing 20-members to a Building Code Committee and charging them with the responsibility to: 1) recommend building codes for adoption applicable to unincorporated Shawnee County; and, 2) recommend a building code program responsible for the administration and enforcement of the building code. The committee has one (1) year to complete its task and return with a recommendation(s) to the County Commission. The proposal as approved by the County Commission can be downloaded by clicking HERE.

Sub-Committee Working Groups

Click HERE for information about each group.

Committee Members

The Committee consists of 20 individuals including:

  • Ivan Weichert, CEO, Topeka Homebuilders Association*
  • Charlie Campbell, Topeka Win Supply*
  • R. Neil Carlson, Plumbing by Carlson*
  • Chuck Dultmeier, Dultmeier Homes*
  • Harold Ramsey, Ramsey Custom Homes*
  • Brian Jacques, Planning Commissioner*
  • Nancy Johnson, Planning Commissioner*
  • Richard Faulkner, City of Topeka Property Code & Development Services*
  • Karl McNorton, Soldier Township Fire Chief*
  • John Lyle, Professional Engineering Inspections*
  • Mark Prellwitz, Prellwitz Construction
  • Ash Davis, Davis Electric Construction
  • Brian Threadgold, IBEW LU 226
  • Vernon Jarboe, Sloan Law Firm
  • Kyle Mead, Lawyers Title of Topeka, Inc.
  • Mike Pressgrove, PDQ Construction, Inc.
  • Tom Woltkamp, Woltkamp Construction, Co.
  • Jerome Desch, Planning Commissioner
  • Bryan Smith, Bryan W. Smith Law Office

North Annex Photo Shawnee County Annex


The Committee's first meeting will be held at the Shawnee County Annex, 1515 NW Saline Street, Topeka, Kansas, on Wednesday, February 10, 2016, at 5:30 pm. The public is welcome to attend.

The Committee is expected to conclude its work and return with recommendations to the Shawnee County Board of Commissioners by January, 2017.

We invite public comment throughout this process. If you have any questions or thoughts to share, please forward them to Barry Beagle, Shawnee County Planning Director, 1515 NW Saline Street, Topeka, KS 66618, or email at Any communication received will be forwarded to the Committee.

  • Working Group Schedules