Shawnee County Treasurer

Innovative Efficient Progressive.

Motor Vehicle Registration Guide

Application for certificate of title and registration must be made through the County Treasurer's Office in the County in which the vehicle is garaged. To avoid penalty, vehicle registration must be made within 60 days from vehicle purchase.

Required Vehicle information to be presented to the County Treasurer’s Office:

  • Used or New Vehicle Information
  • Transfer of License Tag
  • Tax or Tag Refunds

Used Vehicle

Properly Signed title.

  1. Bill of Sale affidavit must include vehicle identification number, Year, Make, signature of the seller and id address of the buyer. (Vehicle dealers are excluded.)
  2. Complete Odometer Disclosure Statement if title is non-conforming. (Vehicle 10 years or older and trucks registered at 20M or higher are exempt. A Mileage reading will still be required.)
  3. Acceptable proof of insurance must contain insurance company id, Policy number and policy expiration date.
  4. Sales Tax receipt if vehicle is purchased from a dealer, If not, sales tax must be paid.
  5. Property Tax must be paid at time of registration/title application (exceptions Heavy Trucks, Trailers and Motorbikes).
  6. If the used vehicle was previously titled in another state, a VIN inspection (MVE-1) form issued by the Kansas Highway Patrol must be furnished.
  7. Title application must be signed by new owner.

New Vehicle

  1. Properly signed manufacturer's statement of origin (MSO).
  2. Odometer Disclosure Statement must be completed if MSO is non-conforming trucks registered at 20M or higher are exempt.
  3. Acceptable proof of insurance must contain insurance company id, Policy number and policy expiration date.
  4. Sales Tax Receipt.
  5. Property Tax must be paid at time of registration/title application (exceptions Heavy Trucks, Trailers and Motorbikes).
  6. Title application must be signed by new owner.
  7. A dealer reassignment (Form TR-127) may be attached to an MSO when a franchised dealer reassigns.

Transfer of License Tag

(Required for both New and Used Vehicles)

  1. Title
  2. Current registration receipt. (If not available, License number plus a fee for duplicate registration.)
  3. Previous vehicle must be sold or traded within 30 days of new purchase.
  4. id of buyer and sale date of previous vehicle.
  5. Assignment of id on new title must match id of previous vehicle registration.

Up to 60 days from a vehicles purchase date, the vehicle owner can display a current plate from a sold or traded vehicle on their newly purchased vehicle of the same type. (K.S.A. 8-135)

OR

Up to 60 days from the date on the vehicle's title, the new vehicle owner may purchase a temporary tag from:

  1. any Kansas County Treasurer (at that county's fee)
  2. from the vehicle's selling dealer.

Acceptable proof of insurance (company id, policy # and policy expiration date) must be provided.

Tax or Tag Refunds

You may be eligible for a pro-rated tax/tag refund if:

  • You sell your vehicle and it is not replaced.
  • You move PERMANENTLY to another state and register your vehicle there. You must turn in your Kansas tag and registration, as well as a copy of your new state driver's license and registration. Your current tag and registration must be turned in at the time the notification for refund is made. Applicant must supply social security number (personal Vehicle) or the federal tax I.D. number (business or leased vehicles) are required by the State of Kansas before a refund is made. To maximize your refund, application(s) should be made prior to the last working day of the month the vehicle was sold.

Refunds are calculated only from the date the application for refund was received in our office, not the date of sale or the date you moved, if earlier.

You can find the deadline for annual registration on the deadlines page.